Javed Akhtar

Javed Akhtar is an Indian poet, lyricist, screenwriter and political activist. Known for his work in Hindi cinema, he has won five National Film Awards and received the Padma Shri in 1999 and the Padma Bhushan in 2007. He has won the National Film Award for Best Lyrics five times and the Filmfare Award for Best Lyricist eight times. He has been a member of the Rajya Sabha. For his work, he received the Richard Dawkins Award in 2020.

Attending Session

March 22, 2022 ● 4.30 pm
Inauguration - Inauguration by Javed Akhtar

March 22, 2022 ● 5.10 pm
Shaayri, Kobita -  Javed Akhtar’s poetry, Srijato’s translations. Readings and  conversation with Sangeeta Datta. Launch of Bangla translation of Javed Akhtar’s anthology

March 23, 2022 ● 5.10 pm
Kitney Aadmi The - Javed Akhtar and Balaji Vittal discuss Vittal’s Pure Evil and the bad men of Hindi cinema. In conversation with RJ Arvind

March 24, 2022 ● 2.30 pm
Har Ek Pal Ka Shayar - Javed Akhtar on the relevance of Sahir Ludhianvi’s poetry in his centenary year. In conversation with Mudar Patherya

March 24, 2022 ● 5 pm
Waqt - Javed Akhtar presents an interpretation of his acclaimed poem by Sangeeta Datta